BOX OFFICE REPORT FOR SEPTEMBER 23RD, 2016

This week: are The Magnificent Seven really that magnificent? Plus, what I’m looking forward to in the last four months of the year – all with guest host Drex!

BOX OFFICE WINNERS AND LOSERS

Not much change from last week: Sully is still number one, having amassed almost $80 million. You can read my review of that by clicking here. The newest entry, Blair Witch, with all of its critic PSAs to not go watch it, made a half-assed mark at number four. It’s made $10 million more than its budget of $5 million – so, $16 million, which I think is far too generous. Not even the acting was enough to save it, and I explain why in my review, which you can find hereSnowden and Bridget Jones’s Baby, also new releases from last week, slid into the top five, but had a tough time making anything more than $11 million apiece. I can’t wait for the box office drought to end, and if you scroll down to the ‘Final Four’ section, you’ll see I believe there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.

OUT IN THEATRES

The Magnificent Seven 

A solid cast, including Denzel Washington, Chris Pratt, Ethan Hawke, and Hailey Bennett, this is a remake…of a remake…of a remake. Don’t worry – I break it all for you down here. Cut to the chase – I definitely recommend checking it out.

Storks 

A Warner Brothers cartoon, this includes the voice talents of Andy Samberg and Jennifer Aniston. Storks in this film have gone from delivering babies to delivering parcels. It’s been mostly lukewarm for critics, which is about the same as a handful of the cartoons we’ve seen this year. (I’m getting flashbacks to The Secret Life of Pets, for instance). I may check this one out.

Queen of Katwe

Lupita Nyong’o is one of the main players in this film about a young woman living in a slum in Uganda – she goes from growing corn to winning chess games. It’s in limited releases throughout Metro Vancouver.

FINAL FOUR

Drex and I talked about what films I’m most looking forward to in the final four months. These are in no particular order, but they have me optimistic for the last few months of the year.

The Girl on the Train 

With Emily Blunt and Hailey Bennett, expect this film to do well financially in the theatres, but I have a hunch this will not perform critically. The more I’ve watched the trailers, the better it looks. I liked the book – I didn’t love it, but I’m not going into this film as skeptical as I have gone in to some of this others. This is out October 7th.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 

This is out on November 18th. Starring Academy Award winner Eddie Redmayne and Colin Farrell, this is a spin-off/prequel to the Harry Potter series. Yes, please!

Rogue One 

Another entry in the Star Wars franchise, expect it to be a ‘force-filled Christmas’ for the next…thousands of years. That’s thanks to Disney ownership. This is out in theatres on December 16th.

The Accountant 

With Ben Affleck and Anna Kendrick, this is a sort-of mysterious film, but, from what I gather from the trailers, Affleck’s character is a mathematician who just happens to be a bookkeeper for some dangerous criminal organizations. Out in theatres on October 14th.

Inferno 

I’ve always had a huge appreciation for Dan Brown’s work, and I love Tom Hanks, so it’s always nice when something like this hits the big screen. The cast includes Ben Foster and Felicity Jones.

OUT ON BLURAY, DVD, DIGITAL DOWNLOAD

Next week you can own Warcraft or Central Intelligence. Warcraft is an adaptation of the popular online game, and Central Intelligence stars Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Kevin Hart.

TAKE A LISTEN TO THE REEL REPORT BELOW!

 

Leave a Reply

